BREAKING NEWS!

I FINALLY FINISHED THE ADVENTURES OF KAVALIER AND CLAY. Never before has the 100% (OK, 99%, but that’s all the footnotes, and I actually totally read them) looked sweeter. It took me years to get here, and I’m not the only one. Shoutout to Nathalie who also has taken forever to read this book and as of this post is still not done. If I wasn’t subjecting myself to the book challenge, I don’t know that I’d ever have finished this book. Part of what kept me going was the next book on my list, The Royal We, by the Fug Girls (aka Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan). The free 7 chapter preview has been taunting me on my Kindle for awhile, but I refused to touch it until Kavalier & Clay was completed.

Anyway, final thoughts on Kavalier & Clay? See text exchange with Nathalie:

It’s not that it wasn’t a good book, but I think all the tangents the book went on made it EXTREMELY difficult for me to stay in the story. I felt like there was a lot of: let’s randomly talk about something that seems to not relate to the story at all, but about 10 pages in, boom! Gotcha! It DOES relate to the story! Ha! Tricked you! It was that way for a LONG time. I think I discussed this book with Parth awhile back and he said that he didn’t reach his tipping point for the book until about halfway through. I think for me it was 65-70% before I reached my tipping point. (Which is obviously a ridiculously long time. It’s a long book.) I’m considering re-reading the book at some point. I think knowing where the book is going might actually help me in the re-reading.

Moving on, The Royal We was like crack. I am so sad that the book doesn’t actually come out until April. The first 7 chapters are fluffy and fun and super easy to read. And check out the cover art here! It’s clearly based on Will & Kate’s courtship, but while some details are quite noticeable, the rest is purely their story. I’m very much looking forward to the book’s release in April.

Until then, I’m going to read a book recommended by one of my blogs: Forever Chic by Tish Jett. Who knows if it’ll be any good. I’m interested to see if it’ll be somewhat like Bringing Up Bebe which I haven’t read, but is on my list.

In other news, condo purchase has stalled. The boring stuff: the HOA does not have a certain type of insurance that Bank of America requires for the approval of the loan, so now I am starting over with a whole new lender. I will say that all the loan officers I’ve dealt with during the process have been really great and responsive. New close date is early April. The biggest bummer about all this is that the rates for the origination fee have changed (which apparently is due to the market – which market? Who knows…) and now my closing costs have gone up $5K! So I’ve started at the beginning again. The only thing that will speed up this process a little is if we can get the .xml format of the appraisal from Bank of America. The new lender also has to be willing to use it. SIGH. I feel so adult and boring talking about all this.

Onto more interesting things! Like the awesome birthday week I had! Normally I just celebrate my birthday and it’s a good time, but this past week ended up being like a really prolonged celebration, which was much more fun than I realized it would be. On my actual birthday, Lee took me out to lunch at Pappasito’s and brought me some cupcakes from Sprinkles, which were delicious! It was especially nice because I hadn’t seen Lee in awhile, so we had all sorts of news to catch up on. Also, who can forget the beautifully harmonized rendition of “Happy Birthday” I got from David, Casey, Katie and Colin from halfway around the world?

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 4.14.21 PM
Screencap of the iPhone candles. If only I could’ve recorded the singing. I actually had no idea what was going on when they first turned off the lights to bring me my cake and candles. The whole thing was cheesy, sweet, and awesome. I really do have the best friends.
Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 4.18.19 PM
This is Katie, Casey, and David eating the cake that they made “for me”. David’s face is especially classic. I should’ve posted that for his birthday. Even though I didn’t get any of the cake, the singing and presentation of cake, complete with iPhone candles really made it feel like they were all here in Houston with me for my birthday.

Then, that night, I went to Liberty Kitchen in River Oaks with Liz, who happened to be in town for work the entire week! That ended up being incredibly serendipitous since this past week I had to clear out of my house for the next 2-3 weeks while my parents install hardwood floors in the back part of our house. So in addition the lovely birthday dinner Liz treated me to, we got to reunite as roomies for the week. 🙂 The next day, I got treated to a lunch with Di, accompanied by presents! Then another dinner with Liz (where the service was abysmal, but I can’t spend any more of my life ranting about that) and another sleepover. Thursday was more of the same, hanging with Liz (by now, I’d had my fill of her and was just using her for the free digs – kidding!) and then Friday I went to see John Legend at the Rodeo! This review encapsulates the night perfectly.

IMG_1630
This was during “All of Me”. He was amazing as usual and, in a surprise turn of events, the sound was actually good this year! Not to mention the cameos made by Common and Kanye West. Those were pretty awesome too.

That night, Audrey and I had a nice long catch up session, which was nice, since she’s usually too busy and cool for me.  Saturday was a nice lazy day and then on Sunday, Mrs. Sharrock and I had a treat yo’ self afternoon (or really a her treating me afternoon) of manicures, pedicures, and massages. It was a really nice cap to a wonderful birthday week.

This is the kind of first class service you get when you stay at the Sharrock house. It’s like a super laid back bed and breakfast over there…
IMG_1638
A belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY to David! Our FaceTimes while he and Casey were in Switzerland visiting Katie and Colin were a TOTAL highlight of my week. I’m constantly amazed at how connected FaceTime keeps me with people who seem so far away…
Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 9.57.37 AM
A screenshot of one of our many FaceTimes last week. Katie and I are both using our Dennis mugs!
2 thoughts on “BREAKING NEWS!

  1. kt4ranger March 10, 2015 / 6:22 pm

    How dare you post pictures of ice cream when you KNOW I’m on the Whole30. So insensitive. Especially because I think I am your main audience. Like, just me. Maybe Dennis? Probably not. Okay, love you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • liviaip March 10, 2015 / 7:43 pm

      Oops. You are definitely my main audience. I think you’re definitely my only regular reader. I think I might have one or two people who have read one or two posts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

