Resetting expectations…

IMG_1167
Sun!

Well, clearly everyday was a complete joke. Now, more than ever, I’m quite impressed with the various blogs I follow that post quality content daily. I’m shocked that they have time for it. Especially some of them that have jobs and children.

So, I’m thinking at minimum, I’ll try to do this weekly. Maybe even twice a week if I get crazy.

Moving on… I finished book 1 of my 52 book challenge! Huzzah! Unbroken was pretty riveting once I reached the halfway point. I ended up finishing it Sunday (Monday?) at 4:00 am. That kind of binge reading definitely screwed with my productivity the next day (well… the next 2 days really), but it was worth it! Both for the book and the act of finishing book 1 of the challenge. πŸ™‚

Book 2 is a book that I’d already started reading (I have a feeling there are going to be a lot of those books finished up during this challenge), Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon. It’s been made into a Starz show which is receiving good reviews, so I’m excited to finish the book so I can also watch the series. So far, I’m only one reading day (of this challenge) into Outlander, but that combined with the amount that I’ve previously read gives me hope that I’ll finish this book by Sunday. Definitely enjoying the book so far, and I think in restarting the book, I’m not having the trouble I had with it previously. The last time I read it, I felt like it took me awhile to get used to the speech style used by the characters.

I sit writing this post looking out the window where there is FINALLY some sun! It seems like the weather has been rainy and grey since I got back from Park City. I don’t know how Katie and Colin have been doing it over there in Switzerland! No sun is much to dreary for me. It makes it way harder for me to attempt to be productive.

Life post vacation has come with some setbacks. As much as I truly enjoyed my vacation, I have to say that it was really difficult to be getting back into the routine after the kids had already settled back into the routine. It made me feel more disoriented than usual, because I expect some amount of discombobulation, but to be experiencing that alone when everyone else it back to normal made it super weird. Additionally, I feel vaguely off with the kids. I’m not sure if it’s them or me, or both of us, but something feels not quite back to normal yet. Carolyn’s had more than her usual amount of brattiness towards me the past few days, which prompted me, this morning at 7:08 am (I remember the time because I kept on repeating it – “It’s 7:08 in the morning! It is way too early for you to be acting like this to me!”) to say what I later realized was a line from Empire (new show on Fox about a hip hop mogul’s family – awesome music, weird score, totally soapy and FUN). I will quote it for you here: “What have I ever done to you for you to treat me like this?” Cookie, played by Taraji P. Henson, says this to Lucious (pronounced Lucius, not lush-us), played by Terence Howard. It cracks me up when I think about how dramatic I must’ve sounded this morning (not that it wasn’t without cause – girl has been serving up the disrespect that past couple days).

IMG_1126
Back from vacation… 😦 Love my new luggage combo. Tumi for the win!

To end things on a more fun note that bratty kids – I got to visit with David Leong this week! He was in town to spend some time with his friend, Tyler, who will be moving to LA soon with her husband, Eddie. It’s always great to catch up with David. Truly one of the most caring and genuine friends you can have. (Unlike Katie. Super uncaring and un-genuine, that one.)

IMG_1163
Me and David at Pondicheri! Picture by Tyler, DIT by George Robert (was gonna double HAAS just then and call him Robert, but decided against it)

Book progress: 22% (reading this one on my Kindle Paperwhite, which is awesome.)

Playlist: none – did this post sans music

2 thoughts on “Resetting expectations…

  1. kt4ranger January 16, 2015 / 2:41 pm

    Duuuude… Writing a blog takes up SO MUCH TIME! I feel good if I’ve written one per week. Also, it’s been sunny here in Geneva, so I’ve been soaking up the sun! It’s becoming cloudy again though, so I’ll be hoping for sun when I visit Houston. Thanks for all the kind things you said about me in this post, Liv. You are the best. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kt4ranger January 16, 2015 / 5:10 pm

    Also, the color in that last photo of you and David is flawless. Mad props to that hot shot DIT.

    Like

Leave a Reply

