Resolution: Read one book per week

Tea, check. Computer, check. Book, check.
Tea, check. Computer, check. Book, check.

So, Robert asked me the other day what my New Year’s resolution was this year. I didn’t have any real answer for him, but I thought about it a little and realized that Di had asked me the same question a few days prior. I had told Di that making my resolution about reading appealed to me. I don’t really read much anymore, mostly because there’s nothing pushing me to do it. And it’s so much easier to just push play on that next episode of Gilmore Girls. Anyway, while talking to Robert, a plan crystalized in my mind: attempt to read one book per week. (Although, since I’m not really talking into account lengths of various books and easier reads vs. more difficult reads, this will turn out to be an average.)

Then, the plan came along even further: attempt to blog about said resolution. Katie’s blog has kind of inspired me. Mostly, just to try and write more. My reading and writing skills have atrophied over time, so I figure now’s as good a time as any to pick it back up.

I’m thinking of attempting to blog every day, but let’s get real, that will probably fall by the wayside pretty quickly. Other blog goals: try and incorporate whatever’s happening in my life at the moment, include one picture per post, reading updates, and if I’m listening to music while blogging, include my music selections (or iTunes’ random selection through my library).

So the first book to receive the resolution treatment is Laura Hillenbrand’s Unbroken. I’ve been wanting to read it for some time, and since the movie’s out and I haven’t seen it yet, now’s the perfect time! I’m on vacation in Park City with the Sharrocks, which is fitting, since I borrowed the book from Mr. Sharrock. Today, I treated myself like one of the kids and set a timer for 20 minutes. So far, so good! If I have the chance, I may set another timer today and read a bit more.

Most everyone else is out skiing, so I took some time to myself this morning to reset myself a little bit. I’ve gotten pretty sloth-like over the Christmas break (mostly holing up in my room and binge-watching Gilmore Girls on Netflix. Robert was a little… horrified?… impressed? by my progress through the series, so it’s clearly time to scale that back a bit. I’ve been pretty unproductive, so now’s the time to get it together. Everyone else was up and about getting ready to head to the slopes around 9:30, so that’s when I got out of bed (much earlier than it’s been happening for the past week or so). I grabbed some coffee and headed over to the other condo where Traci and Mr. Sharrock were having a quiet morning, so I sat with them for a bit before heading back to our condo. After having a healthy breakfast of tea, oatmeal, banana and Shakeology, I watched some Gilmore Girls. And then… I turned it off! I got out my new(ish) Insanity Max: 30 DVDs and did a workout. While cooling off, I read some Unbroken.

The beautiful view from where I sit writing this blog post...
The beautiful view from where I sit writing this blog post…

Plans for the rest of the day include: possibly more Gilmore Girls, possibly another Insanity Max: 30 DVD, and possibly more reading!

Day 1 of my new leaf is going well. We’ll see if there’s a day 2…

Book progress: 2 chapters down!

Today’s Playlist:
The Cookers – Farewell Mulgrew
Josh Gad & Andrew Rannells – I Am Here For You
Carrie Underwood – Blown Away
John Legend – So Gone
MilkDrive – SoHo
Francisca Valenzuela – Qué Sería
The Book of Mormon Original Cast – Hello
Jack Johnson – Imagine
Brad Paisley – Then (Piano Mix)
Cat Power – Sea of Love
Jason Mraz – Quiet

Location: Park City, UT

New things I’ve learned from writing this post: how to insert the special accents on a mac keyboard (for the accent going down on the left – called an acute accent – option + e + the character)

IMG_0961
I’m capable of successfully keeping a fire going!
Leave a Reply

